Reply To: Let's Get Paid aka How To Charge

July 1, 2016 at 1:28 pm #6591
Profile photo of ndyendye
Participant

Hi Raven

I have mostly been a lurker here in the group and have not contributed much. I am a marketing consultant and spend a considerable amount of time helping people just like you figure out how to move from places like fiverr over to their own agency or service.

First thing, yes…. get away from Fiverr. It was likely a great place to get some experience and some confidence, but it looks like you have outgrown it and need to fly.

While I could certainly give you plenty of advice and talk for days on the topic, here are some fundamental things you have to get sorted out, before you can really move forward.

– Do you have a specific industry that you would like to serve?

– Are the clients that you are getting from fiverr from specific industries?

Would you like to work with software companies, non-profit companies, things like that.

This is important b/c we can better focus all your efforts on getting the right clients, if you know what industry to focus on. Don’t stress over the answer, just list 3 that come to mind. We just need a direction right now. We can always adjust later.

Once we determine that, my next piece of advice is going to be to create Authority Content around the challenges of that industry. By Authority Content, I mean content that demonstrates your expertise and ability.

So this is how it all fits together…. if you know you want to have software companies as clients in your visual recording business, then you would create content around the issues they deal with and talk about and show how visual content helps them better understand their jobs, their challenges and work better as a team.